© 2011 True Vine Trust for Tanzania


Registered charity number: 1127158
Home.About .Projects.Involvement.Tanzania.Contact.
                                      for Tanzania



Tanzania is in central East Africa bordered by Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo,  Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique. The country's eastern borders lie on the Indian Ocean.   There are 26 administrative regions of the country, the capital is Dodoma, and the administrative centre is Dar es Salaam.


Tanzania is in central East Africa, with a population of approximately 45 million. Its capital is Dodoma, and  the political centre is Dar es Salaam.   Tanzania was formed from an amalgamation of Tanganika and Zanzibar in 1964.


• The languages are Swahili, English, Arabic and local languages.

• Religions are Muslim,  Christian and indigenous beliefs, about 30% each.

• Tanzania is one of the poorest countries in the world, agriculture accounting for more than 40% of GDP.  Only  4% of the land is used for agriculture.  Due to climate change there is a real challenge for provision of water to communities.  

• The incidence of AIDS/HIV is 8.8%.   

• Literacy is 77% for males and 62% in females as defined by the ability to read and write Swahili,  for over 15 years old.



Arusha is the nearest large town to Shambarai township, in the Manyara district, one of the 24 districts which make up Tanzania.


The whole area is in the Masai steppe, a plateau rich in scenery and wildlife.   


Shambarai is about 30 kilometres miles south west of Kilimanjaro airport, 8 kilometres from Mbuguni and about 25 kilometres from Arusha.